iView home page
iView Multimedia Forum Index

FAQ FAQ     SearchSearch     MemberlistMemberlist     UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister  
ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Microsoft Expression Media - New FORUM

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    iView Multimedia Forum Index -> iView MediaPro
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
iviewadmin
Site Admin
Site Admin


Joined: 18 Mar 2004
Posts: 50

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 10:50 am    Post subject: Microsoft Expression Media - New FORUM Reply with quote

Dear iView Forum members,

Microsoft have just launched their Expression Studio Forums. The Expression Media Forum is now live. We invite you to visit and participate;
Expression Media Forum

Information regarding the iView User Forums will be made soon, the current plan is to offer these for some time yet.

Kind regards
Simon Street
iView Multimedia Ltd.


Last edited by iviewadmin on Fri Jun 01, 2007 8:48 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
roberte



Joined: 18 Jun 2004
Posts: 2147
Location: Sydney, Australia

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Simon,

Already there mate and I see some familar names. When it comes time to close these forums I hope there will be a way of migrating the posts to a new home. Even the original iView forums are still accessible.
_________________
-- Robert
Expression Media 2 / Windows 8 / Mac OS X 10.10
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dierk



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 630
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

1. A site admin who is unable to create a live URL in this forum?!
2. The Microsoft forum is abysmally bad to llok at and to negotiate.
3. The new forum needs Internet Explorer [probably even v7]; I am unable to sign in using Opera 9.20.

Looks like my place to discuss Expression Media will not be with Microsoft. this has nothing to do with the usual MS bashing - my track record will show that I am one of the MS defenders - but with me not being able to access the forum using my preferred browser. The very bad design, from a usability perspective, adds to my dismay.
_________________
xMedia v2 on Windows XP/SP2; 3.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Breeze DownloaderPro, Capture NX, Adobe CS3 Design Premium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
wildpicture



Joined: 01 May 2005
Posts: 100
Location: The Netherlands

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 3:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The new forum seems to work with Firefox. But I agree that the design is awfull and much harder to read than this (PhpBB) forum.
_________________
Hans Martens

Wildpicture, Wildlife photography www.wildpicture.com
Dell 9150 4GB RAM, XP SP2, IVMP 3.1.3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drmrbrewer



Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 510
Location: UK

PostPosted: Mon Apr 23, 2007 9:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Works OK with IE6.

But I agree; not so easy to navigate.

For example, is there any way of displaying a whole thread for quick scanning of the replies, or is it a case of clicking on each reply separately?

And the Expression Media forum seems a little lost in a whole sea of other forums (or fora?). I guess that's what comes from being gobbled up by the likes of MS.

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DJWebb



Joined: 03 Feb 2006
Posts: 95
Location: southampton, UK

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 11:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Not wanting to jump on the band wagon but Yuck!...

Those new forums are not nice. I thought the whole "expression" package was about web design and such like and they want the users of said package to discuss it on that POS.

There are many many free forum installs that look and work better than the one Microsoft has rolled out.

I think I'll stick here until were forced over there and then i'll decide if its worth signing up.
_________________
http://photography-of-rock.com For all your Music Photography Needs.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Hannibal



Joined: 01 Oct 2005
Posts: 29
Location: New York

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 12:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nine threads there and only one relates to media pro. (the one with no replies) hmmm
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
ifonline



Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 1:07 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yeah. I took a survey when I went to the Microsoft site, and one of the things I hit them on was the design of their forums. They are terrible. I may be stupid, but I can't even find a way to subscribe to topics. I can't even find a way to quickly see new posts. What a mess...
_________________
Ian

Windows XP SP2, Core 2 Duo 2.4, 4 GB RAM, 250/320/320 GB HDs, Lightroom 1.0 (Waiting for 1.1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
John Bean



Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 245
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 1:23 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

ifonline wrote:
What a mess...


Well, they had to go one better than Adobe in an attempt to get the "worst web forum" design award ;-)

I think I still dislike Adobe's more, I access it via their newsserver instead. I guess the same applies for the Microsoft fora...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
johnbeardy



Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Posts: 1137
Location: Dulwich, South ("Sarf") London

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 2:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hannibal wrote:
Nine threads there and only one relates to media pro. (the one with no replies) hmmm


Actually 3 relate to IVMP but you have a point - it does make you question dropping the Pro off the name.

John
_________________
PC and Mac too
iView scripts & utilities
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ifonline



Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 10:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John Bean wrote:
ifonline wrote:
What a mess...


Well, they had to go one better than Adobe in an attempt to get the "worst web forum" design award ;-)

I think I still dislike Adobe's more, I access it via their newsserver instead. I guess the same applies for the Microsoft fora...


Good point. Gotta be fair... Adobe's Forum isn't any better, really, although I suppose I can wade through it much easier. Why on earth do these giants want to use/write these obscure, relatively featureless Forums? Why not something established, albeit better than phpBB. I say again... vBulletin or Simple Machines.

Gotta check out the newsserver version for Adobe...
_________________
Ian

Windows XP SP2, Core 2 Duo 2.4, 4 GB RAM, 250/320/320 GB HDs, Lightroom 1.0 (Waiting for 1.1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
John Bean



Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 245
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Tue Apr 24, 2007 11:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Gotta check out the newsserver version for Adobe...


Unfortunately they don't have public newsgroups like Microsoft, you need to configure your newsreader to use their private server (adobeforums.com) and log on with your Adobe ID. Better than the suffering terrible web forums though.

At least I can read the public Microsoft groups (including the new one) from my usual server, so Microsoft got that bit right ;-)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ojaste



Joined: 23 Dec 2005
Posts: 60
Location: Toronto, Ontario

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 2:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please save us from this!!! That forum will now be useless.

As least provide a RSS feed so we can see if it worth suffering the pain of bad design.

Ironic that a design tool forum (Expression series) is supported by something that a poster child of bad design. What a way to sell a design product.

Can some please post a way how we can direct access to the newserver and we can use our own newreader. The web version is so hard to read and follow.
_________________
\marty
www.perspectva.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dierk



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 630
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 6:26 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John Bean wrote:
Unfortunately they don't have public newsgroups like Microsoft, you need to configure your newsreader to use their private server (adobeforums.com) and log on with your Adobe ID.


In effect it is a public forum. Who cares about distribution to other servers. I am even glad companies started to use news servers on their own, not relying on some very flaky public servers [not that many out there anymore anyway].

Anybody using a newsreader, like for instance Agent, should have no trouble setting up Adobe's servers.

Thanks for reminding me to look for Expression groups on Usenet, totally forgot about that!
_________________
xMedia v2 on Windows XP/SP2; 3.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Breeze DownloaderPro, Capture NX, Adobe CS3 Design Premium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
John Bean



Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 245
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 9:22 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
Anybody using a newsreader, like for instance Agent, should have no trouble setting up Adobe's servers.


I wasn't suggesting it was difficult, just irritating. Far easier to pick up all the groups from the same source - and my usually server is not in the least flaky... unlike Adobe's which most certainly is.

I've used Usenet for a long time and I agree it's in decline, but making it even more obscure for newcomers by not propagating articles doesn't help at all.

Incidentally, I said it was a private server because it is - you need a login to access it, it doesn't propagate articles to other servers... if that's not "private" then I don't know what is.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dierk



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 630
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 3:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Well, it's rather easy to obtain an Adobe ID for anybody - not like having to be 'part of the family' or secret handshakes or such. It's as easy to get onto Adobe's news servers as it is to get into their Web forum. Not even as hard as to get into an alphy or beta testing group.
_________________
xMedia v2 on Windows XP/SP2; 3.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Breeze DownloaderPro, Capture NX, Adobe CS3 Design Premium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
John Bean



Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 245
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 4:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think we are at cross purposes about my ambiguous use of "private" in this context, I meant the groups/articles rather than the server are "private" in the Usenet sense because they don't propagate to other servers as "public" groups do. My preferred server also requires login credentials but carries only public groups.

My main gripe with Adobe is that their newsserver has terrible performance and is often completely broken. This makes me wish I could use a reliable server of my choice just as I can with the Microsoft groups.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drmrbrewer



Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 510
Location: UK

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 4:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

For those of us who are rather challenged in this department, how does one go about reading MS forum posts without having to endure MS's own forum interface?

Thanks,

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dierk



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 630
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 8:54 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You need a newsreader [Agent, Outlook Express], a news server address [for Microsoft a public, probably free, server will do]. Set the newsreader up with the server's address, download the group directory, search for 'microsoft', look through the groups being shown, select the ones you want.

News reader: http://www.forteinc.com/
News server: nntp.aioe.org [more here: http://www.aioe.org/]
_________________
xMedia v2 on Windows XP/SP2; 3.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Breeze DownloaderPro, Capture NX, Adobe CS3 Design Premium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
johnbeardy



Joined: 22 Nov 2004
Posts: 1137
Location: Dulwich, South ("Sarf") London

PostPosted: Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:03 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Mozilla Thunderbird is another handy newsreader.

John
_________________
PC and Mac too
iView scripts & utilities
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dierk



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 630
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 6:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

To plug my favourite browser for a change: Opera, too.

Eventually it all depends upon your needs, browsers [and I guess OE] are on-line readers, a viable alternative in the days of DSL and flat rates. Agent, I believe, is the last of a dying breed of off-line readers. Since it is a specialised news reader it offers a lot more than most afterthoughts incorporated into browsers and e-mail clients or PIMs; the afterthought in Agent are the e-mail capabilities.

So much for two of my most and longest used programs ...
_________________
xMedia v2 on Windows XP/SP2; 3.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Breeze DownloaderPro, Capture NX, Adobe CS3 Design Premium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
John Bean



Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 245
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think maybe OE is actually offline as well, but I could be wrong since I don't use #shudder# OE at all.

I use Agent, but I've used mail clients from time to time instead - most of them seem to have newsreader capabilities as an afterthought just like Agent has mail as an afterthought. The ones I've used treat Usenet articles more or less like mail (no surprise there) so they tend to be offline readers.

Sadly Free Agent no longer exists, and although I would recommend even a casual user to use a proper newsreader rather than a mail program it seems a bit OTT to have to buy one, so many people fall back on OE since it's "free". Happily there are better free options; my second choice (after Agent) is the excellent free 40tude Dialog, a sort of "Agent lookalike" that works rather well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
drmrbrewer



Joined: 24 Sep 2005
Posts: 510
Location: UK

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 9:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't suppose Google Reader (http://www.google.com/reader) is any good? At least, not yet? Can it be set up to read groups like those on the MS forums?

Mike
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Dierk



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 630
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John Bean wrote:
Sadly Free Agent no longer exists


Since when? Last time I cared - when v4 came out - FA was just rolled into Agent. After the 30 day trial period is over some features of Agent would not work without buying and unleashing. Haven't seen anything on the forum or Web site about FA not being available anymore.
_________________
xMedia v2 on Windows XP/SP2; 3.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Breeze DownloaderPro, Capture NX, Adobe CS3 Design Premium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Dierk



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 630
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 12:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Looks like it is a aggregator, not a newsreader*. Newsreaders are about newsgroups in Usenet [the second oldest part of the Internet], aggregators collect news as newspapers understand the term.

Since you have to use a browser to get Google services, and I am quite sure IE is not your [only] choice, and several other browser come with newsreader capabilities as pointed out above, why not just set your browser to a free server - the one I mentioned is quite good if not premium -, gather around a bit? If you like it, you can always go one step further, i.e. get a dedicated newsreader.

BTW, can someone tell me why there are already discussions in Media Expression's group? The program is not even on the market.




*I know, I am being sloppy about the spelling of the program category.
_________________
xMedia v2 on Windows XP/SP2; 3.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Breeze DownloaderPro, Capture NX, Adobe CS3 Design Premium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
John Bean



Joined: 24 Jun 2006
Posts: 245
Location: Lancashire

PostPosted: Thu Apr 26, 2007 6:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Dierk wrote:
John Bean wrote:
Sadly Free Agent no longer exists


Haven't seen anything on the forum or Web site about FA not being available anymore.


Well, I still use Agent v2, but maybe I misinterpreted their website (http://www.forteinc.com/agent/) when I read "Forté has offered Free Agent for more than 10 years. With the release of Agent 4.0 we have decided to retire Free Agent and focus on providing Agent customers with exciting new features and timely upgrades."

It sounded clear enough when I read it; Free Agent hasn't been a separate program for ages, it was just the unlicensed version in my V2 for example. So Forte's announcement I took to mean there's no unlicensed version any more.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Dierk



Joined: 14 Jan 2005
Posts: 630
Location: Hamburg (Germany)

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2007 7:02 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, this just went by me. Just looked into their FAQs - never done that before - and found you are right: 30 days and then nothing [or pay up].
_________________
xMedia v2 on Windows XP/SP2; 3.4 GHz, 2 GB RAM, loads of storage space.
Other: Nikon D2x, Nikon D200, Breeze DownloaderPro, Capture NX, Adobe CS3 Design Premium
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website AIM Address Yahoo Messenger MSN Messenger
Photo_Op



Joined: 01 Jul 2006
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Sun Apr 29, 2007 12:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK! So almost everyone said don't be quick to judge what MS will do to IVMP. Well, if their proposed movement of the Forum is any indication, I'd get the life jackets ready. Five days after the thread goes up and we have everyone searching for workarounds.

Dave
_________________
MacPro, 2.66GHz, 3 GB ram, Os X 10.4.8, iView 3.1.3 Beta
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
CTYankee



Joined: 22 Aug 2006
Posts: 81

PostPosted: Wed May 02, 2007 5:27 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Photo_Op wrote:
OK! So almost everyone said don't be quick to judge what MS will do to IVMP. Well, if their proposed movement of the Forum is any indication, I'd get the life jackets ready. Five days after the thread goes up and we have everyone searching for workarounds.

Dave


I was one who didn't say to wait, but to expect a rebadged IVMP with no enhancements and if anything more bugs. So far looks like I was right.

Has Microsoft killed another one?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
free1000



Joined: 16 Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Location: UK

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 4:42 pm    Post subject: Another one bites the dust Reply with quote

Ah well... although its far more limited, I bought Lightroom and intend to make that my DAM solution now...

IView was a great idea, and by far the best software of its type. But some key issues were never fixed in my view (eg: access to network drives) and I have a feeling that in the long term Adobe will get Lightroom to do all the things I need it to.

When a new Adobe product comes out, I do get a frisson of excitement (and fear for my bank balance). I'm afraid that MS products just make me yawn.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
ifonline



Joined: 23 Jul 2006
Posts: 89

PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2007 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I did the same thing. iView MediaPro was, what I considered, the best in its class. It had issues that never got address, unfortunately, and now with Microsoft at the helm, things have gotten even worse. Lightroom is now my choice as well, and I too expect it to become bigger and better as time moves forward.
_________________
Ian

Windows XP SP2, Core 2 Duo 2.4, 4 GB RAM, 250/320/320 GB HDs, Lightroom 1.0 (Waiting for 1.1)
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
wcameron



Joined: 16 Mar 2006
Posts: 46
Location: Banff, Alberta, Canada

PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2007 12:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

AAAAARRRGH!

I can't believe that MS has not published ANY form of migration path. Expression merely installs new software (ignoring the iView installation) without any of the vocabularies such as keywords.txt, people.txt, etc. If I try to copy the files into the vocabulary directory my entire computer goes crazy. Every key on my computer provides wierd results (as if I were depressing the ALT key). The only solution is a reboot. AND yes, I have posted on the useless MS forum.

I have lightroom but it has an inferior catalog. Lightroom was my catalog and Lightroom was my raw processor, etc. If I could figure a good way to get my vocabulary into LR, I may just dump Expression - unless some support appears.
_________________
http://www.MountainNature.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Chigmaroff



Joined: 18 Dec 2004
Posts: 28

PostPosted: Thu Feb 21, 2008 12:08 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I read all the posts disappointed with the direction iView has taken. I still use it but have not migrated to the EM version. I must say anything with the Microsoft moniker on it gives me the heebee-geebeez. I do expect LR to produce a very useful DAM solution within LR.
_________________
Mac G5 DC 2.3G 8G RAM 30" ACD 15" G4 PB
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    iView Multimedia Forum Index -> iView MediaPro All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



  © iView Multimedia Ltd. | All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy | Copyright | Site Map