iView home page
iView Multimedia Forum Index

FAQ FAQ     SearchSearch     MemberlistMemberlist     UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister  
ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Probable reason of reader not yet ready?

This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    iView Multimedia Forum Index -> iView Catalog Reader
View previous topic :: View next topic  
maxnovi

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 1:10 pm    Post subject: Probable reason of reader not yet ready? Reply with quote

As a professional programmer I hav some to say about this strange delay of the Catalog Reader for IView 3.0.

The source code of a reader is, most of times, a subset of the main code for the full product. This subcode is managed mostly using internal keywords for compiling (es. #define) so the main code is always the same and the reader code is stripped out compiling the reader. A proof of this is the presence of Reader bitmaps into the full catalog code.
That said, the problem of this absolutely ridicolous delay can be only a management problem. may be the company used an outsurcing firm to develop the reader and there are problems with this agreement? Or the reader is delayed on purpose, may be with a strange policy to bring users to leave this product? Anyway the thing is quite strange, considering that IView is one of the very few DAM softwares on the market!
I have many dubts that this delay has a technical reason!

I hope that Support people will give a true and loyal response to these dubts or we must expect another politically correct answer (ie. none)?

best regards!
roberte

PostPosted: Wed Apr 26, 2006 6:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hi Max,

I suspect iView are having technical issues, most probably with the Universal Binary?