iView home page
iView Multimedia Forum Index

FAQ FAQ     SearchSearch     MemberlistMemberlist     UsergroupsUsergroups    RegisterRegister  
ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Way to Duplicate Keywords When Setting up New Catalog?

 
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    iView Multimedia Forum Index -> iView MediaPro
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
cokids



Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:30 am    Post subject: Way to Duplicate Keywords When Setting up New Catalog? Reply with quote

I just finished cataloging four separate collections of photos. I keyworded each separately even though the keywords were duplicative each time. Is there a way to import keywords from an old catalog to a new one? This would be a real time-saver for me!

Beth
_________________
Story Hour Photography (Maine, New England, Pennsylvania Subjects)
http://www.acclaimstockphotography.com (search on 'Beth Conant')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Jim



Joined: 01 Apr 2004
Posts: 120
Location: Portland, OR, USA

PostPosted: Sun Apr 18, 2004 7:10 am    Post subject: keywords Reply with quote

Hi Beth,

In Media Pro your keyword list is really global, and automatically available to all Catalogs via the 'Favorites' list feature. In a new catalog, select a picture and switch to the Info panel. Find the Keywords annotation section, double-click to add one, then click on the pull-down menu (down arrow icon) at the right. This is your keywords 'Favorites' list, and should contain all the keywords you have collectively entered in all of your catalogs. You can either select one from the menu, or let them auto-complete by typing the first few letters of one. (BTW, these global favorites listings are available for the other annotations too. And there is a way to edit them if they start getting filled with unwanted words.)

Note that individual keywords will not appear under the Organize panel until they have been applied to at least one picture in the Catalog. So at first you will need to annotate in the Info window for a while, before you get have the ability to just drag and drop in the Organize panel.

Hope I explained that clearly. It's a little strange I suppose, but OK once you understand what is going on...

Jim
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Old Toad



Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 2480
Location: Temecula, CA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 20, 2004 11:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As Jim points out, all of your keywords are in the new catalog. You just have to click on the little gear wheel at the right of the keyword pane and activate all of your keywords before starting your imports. They will be there ready to have thumbnails dragged to them for keywording.

Hope this has been of some help. Good luck.
_________________
15" MBP 2.16 Ghz; G5 Dual-core 2GHz, 4G RAM, 250G HD; Mac OS X (10.5.3); 750/250GB FW HDs; QT 7.4.5P; iVMP 3.1.3 (42E6); Photoshop CS3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
cokids



Joined: 15 Apr 2004
Posts: 9

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 12:01 am    Post subject: Thank you! Reply with quote

For sure it's a help! This is exactly what I was hoping for. A pull down menu is one thing, but this on operation that brings all thekeywords to the fore is what i was looking for!

Thanks!
Beth
_________________
Story Hour Photography (Maine, New England, Pennsylvania Subjects)
http://www.acclaimstockphotography.com (search on 'Beth Conant')
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message AIM Address
Guest






PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Old Toad wrote:
... You just have to click on the little gear wheel at the right of the keyword pane and activate all of your keywords...

Old Toad, I don't see the little 'gear wheel' you refer to... just a pop-menu to add/remove keywords. But that seems to work just one at a time, not turn them all on at once. Am I looking in the wrong place?
Back to top
Old Toad



Joined: 30 Mar 2004
Posts: 2480
Location: Temecula, CA

PostPosted: Wed Apr 21, 2004 10:51 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The gear wheel is in the beta version, 2.5b2. In 2.0.3 it's a small document or page icon. But you're right, you can only activate one at a time. However, you can go in and activate all of them before you start any importing into a new catalog. Then you just have to drag and drop images to assign keywords.
_________________
15" MBP 2.16 Ghz; G5 Dual-core 2GHz, 4G RAM, 250G HD; Mac OS X (10.5.3); 750/250GB FW HDs; QT 7.4.5P; iVMP 3.1.3 (42E6); Photoshop CS3
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
This forum is locked: you cannot post, reply to, or edit topics.   This topic is locked: you cannot edit posts or make replies.    iView Multimedia Forum Index -> iView MediaPro All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum



  © iView Multimedia Ltd. | All Rights Reserved Privacy Policy | Copyright | Site Map